Gig Guide: Deakin Uni appoints innovation lead

Brandon How

Deakin University has appointed former school of humanities and social sciences head Professor Matthew Clarke as its deputy vice-chancellor for research and innovation.

Professor Clarke has been acting in the role since the retirement of his predecessor Professor Julie Owens in July and will formally commence in the role on November 1.

Before acting as the deputy vice-chancellor for research and innovation, Professor Clarke served as pro vice-chancellor researcher development, and prior to that was head of school.

Professor Clarke has more than two decades of experience in international development and has published more than 120 academic journal papers or book chapters, and authored eight books.

Vice-chancellor Professor Iain Martin welcomed the appointment and said Professor Clarke would help continue to lift the university’s global standing.

Professor Matthew Clarke.

The new chief information officer of the National Disability Insurance Agency is former senior Victorian public servant Ajay Satyan. Beginning in the role earlier this month, Mr Satyan fills the vacancy left by Ian Frew, who retired in April after five years in the role.

Mr Satyan moved from his role as the inaugural executive director of the centralised Whole of Victorian Government Grants Centre within the Department of Government Services.

He has previously served as chief technology officer and acting chief information officer at the federal Department of the Environment and Energy, as well as a director for IT service management at the Australian Taxation Office.

The new chief executive of NSW Infrastructure is Tom Gellibrand, a promotion from his role as head of projects. He has spent more than 25 years in strategic urban, transport, and infrastructure planning across state and local governments.

EdTech firm Year13 has recruited two former Atlassian development managers at the same time as it completes acquisition of traditional publishing and media firm the Good Education Group. Code Barrell co-founder Nick Menere and developer Mark Chaimungkalanont have joined Year13 as chief product officer and chief technical officer, respectively.

University of Sydney-based think tank, the United States Studies Centre, has appointed eight new non-resident fellows with expertise across politics, climate, economics and defence. They are Lachlan Carey, Barbara Comstock, Peter Lee, Meg McDonald, Helen Mitchell, Edward Morgan, Lester Munson and Benjamin Reilly.

The non-resident fellows boast experience across Australian diplomatic experience, specialised research experience, and in the case of Ms Comstock, experience as a member of the US House of Representatives.

Former NSW Digital Government minister Victor Dominello has been named the chair of a new Ministerial Digital ID Expert Panel, as reported by Mr Dominello is joined on Panel by former Australian Privacy Commissioner Malcolm Crompton, First Nations Digital Inclusion Advisory Group chair Dot West, and former head of Australia Post Digital iD Margo Stephen.

The Australian Research Council has announced 99 appointments to its College of Experts, taking the total to 319 — the most since 2010. Each member has been appointed on a three-year term. The full list can been found here.

Former Western Australian minister for Transport, Finance and Agriculture, and for Food Dean Nalder will join the board of DevelopmentWA in late December.

The new chief marketing officer of telco amaysim is Peter MacGregor who moves from his role as head of consumer marketing at Telstra.

Do you know more? Contact James Riley via Email.

Leave a Comment

Related stories