Gig Guide: Industry department finalises executive line up

Brandon How

The Department of Industry, Science, and Resources has made three executive appointments at the deputy secretary level, all of which have transferred from senior executive service band two roles at other departments.

New deputy secretary of the corporate group Neal Mason began in the role on Monday after moving from the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry.

Starting on December 12 is the new deputy secretary of the Industry and Commercialisation Group Julia Pickworth and the new deputy secretary of the Science and Technology Group Duncan McIntyre.

The pair moved from the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts and the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry respectively.

The new appointments replace the two acting deputy secretaries Narelle Luchetti and Janean Richards. Ms Luchetti has been acting in the role since November 23, after former acting deputy secretary Russ Campbell moved to become Deputy Under Treasurer at the Australian Capital Territory Government.

Deputy secretary of the Science and Technology Group Duncan McIntyre.

Former Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) chief executive Rob Fitzpatrick has been appointed chief executive at Recharge Industries. The battery technology company is receiving one fifth of the University Trailblazer funding for the Recycling and Renewables Energy Commercialisation Hub at Deakin University.

Mr Fitzpatrick headed the AIIA for almost three years between 2016 and the end of 2018. He subsequently served as the chief executive and director of battery storage firm Gelion for a year and a half. An experienced board director, he presently holds positions at several organisations including Meat and Livestock Australia and AARNet.

Three new appointments were made to the board of Screen Australia last Tuesday, each on a three-year term. This includes award-winning actors Marta Dusseldorp and Sacha Horler, with Australia Prudential Regulation Authority executive director of public affairs and government relations Nicholas Pickard rounding out the appointments. Mr Pickard is also currently deputy chair of Regional Arts NSW and chair of the Australian Society of Authors.

Fortescue Future Industries (FFI) chief financial officer Guy Debelle has quit and will move to the board of the company to allow him to focus on his health. The former Reserve Bank of Australia deputy governor was involved in a serious bicycle incident in August. FFI global head of commercial Felicity Gooding is now acting as chief financial officer.

CSIRO is looking to fill its newly created chief digital officer role, to work closely with executive director for Digital, National Facilities and Collections Elanor Huntington. The chief digital officer will be responsible for the organisation’s digital strategy.

Circular economy advocacy body Circular Australia has appointed the University of Sydney’s acting head of the School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Professor Ali Habbas as its chief circular economist. Professor Abbas is also the director of the Waste Transformation Research Hub and Sydney Nano’s Deputy Director for Industry, Innovation and Commercialisation.

Energy usage platform Wattwatchers has appointed Mark Gill as chair to replace outgoing chair Justine Jarvinen who has been in the role since October 2017 and will remain on the board as a non-executive director. Mr Gill has been a director at the company since April 2022 and has been a partner at Talu Ventures since January 2013. Ms Jarvine is managing principal for sustainability and climate change at engineering consultant Aurecon and also sits on a number of other boards.

Data#3’s new chief financial officer Cherie O’Riordan will begin in the role on January 30, 2023. Ms O’Riordan has been chief financial officer of infrastructure development firm Cardno since March 2022.

On Thursday, AusTrade and the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry announced the winners of the 60th Australian Export Awards. Some of the winners include:

  • Advanced Technologies Award – Fivecast, open-source intelligence solutions provider
  • Creative Industries Award – Next Level Racing, racing and flight simulation products for home, professional racing drivers, and pilot training
  • Emerging Exporter Award – MyVenue, cloud-based point-of-sale solution
  • International Health Award – Little Green Pharma, medicinal cannabis producer
  • Manufacturing and Advanced Materials Award – REDARC Electronics, automotive battery solutions and associated products
  • Resources and Energy Award – Coolon, smart lighting solutions for mining, defence, and architectural sectors
  • Small Business Award – Green Eco Technologies, produces machines that recycle and re-purpose organic waste
  • Sustainability Award – Rubicon Water, irrigation automation technology solutions provider

Do you know more? Contact James Riley via Email.

Leave a Comment

Related stories