Gig Guide: NSW Customer Service secretary steps down

Brandon How

The secretary of the New South Wales Department of Customer Service, Emma Hogan, will step down from the top job later this year after four years in the role.

Ms Hogan joined the government as NSW Public Service Commissioner in May 2018, before being appointed Digital and Department of Customer Service secretary in October 2019.

She is expected to remain in the role until the end of November but will depart sooner if a replacement is found.

Describing her time at the Department as “the greatest privilege of my professional career”, Ms Hogan said “the time is right to step aside, take a break, and make space for a change of leadership and some fresh energy during the next era for the department”.

Minister for Customer Service and Digital Government Jihad Dib thanked Ms Hogan for her service and said she “demonstrated her absolute commitment to delivering digital innovation and improved customer outcomes for the NSW community”.

Emma Hogan

South Australia’s chief scientist Professor Caroline McMillen vacated the role last week, departing halfway through her second three-year term as chief scientist for personal reasons.

A distinguished medical and health researcher, Professor McMillen has served in the role since October 2018.

The South Australian Department for Industry, Innovation, and Science will now identify potential candidates for the next Chief Scientist and make a recommendation to the Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science Susan Close and the state government cabinet.

Three new appointments have been made to the advisory council overseeing the Western Australian $1.6 billion Future Health Research and Innovation Fund. The new appointments are South West Aboriginal Medical Service chief executive Lesley Nelson, former chief medical officer of Saskatchewan, Canada, and Brightwater Care Group chief executive Jennifer Lawrence.

The acting head of the Future Made in Australia Office at the Department of Finance Sabrena King has been confirmed in the role.

Former Labor shadow environment minister Terri Butler has been appointed the chair of the Jet Zero Council in her capacity as Sustainable Aviation Fuel Alliance of Australia and New Zealand chair.

As reported by, a review of Australia’s export control laws will be lead by former Defence deputy secretary and diplomat Peter Tesch and Professor Graeme Samuel, the former chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.

NSW privacy commissioner Samantha Gavel will vacate the role when her term ends on September 4. She has served in the role since September 2017. Sonia Minutillo, who is currently the state Information and Privacy Commission’s director investigation and reporting will be acting privacy commissioner until a replacement is found.

Samantha Gavel

The Northern Territory has named the chief executive of economic development body Jabiru Kabolkmaken, Kelly Ralston, as its next Territory Investment Commissioner. Ms Kelly is the former AusTrade deputy chief executive officer and senior trade and investment commissioner in the Australian Embassy in Washington and in Houston, Texas.

Amid ongoing leadership instability at Fortescue, former CSIRO chief executive Larry Marshall has joined as a director of the board, as reported by On Monday, Fortescue’s chief executive Fiona Hick left the company after just six months.

Ms Hick was later joined by chief financial officer Christine Morris, who had only commenced in the role in July, and former Reserve Bank of Australia deputy governor Dr Guy Debelle, who had sat on the board since November after vacating the chief financial officer role he was appointed to in March 2022.

The new chair of Telstra will be current director Craig Dunn when incumbent chair John Mullen retires from the board on October 17. Mr Mullen served on the board for 15 years, the last seven as chair. He is also chair of transport and logistics firms Brambles and Toll Group.

Macquarie Cloud Services appoints Jonathan Staff as the head of its private cloud business. Mr Staff has 18 years of experience working cloud and networks, with stints spent at IT firms AC3 and Dimension Data. He has been at Macquarie since the beginning of 2021.

Hysata has appointed the founder of Bloomberg New Energy Finance, Michael Liebrich, to its global advisory board. A former advisor to the secretary general of the United Nations on Sustainable Energy for All, Mr Liebrich is also a member of the United Kingdom’s Taskforce on Energy Efficiency and is an advisor to the United Kingdom Board of Trade.

Fleet Space Technologies’ new chief people officer is Isa Notermans, who brings over 17 years experience in human resources to the role. She moves from Airtasker where she was chief human resources officer for more than a year and a half. She has held similar roles at Linktree, Spotify, and Google.

Suncorp’s chief information officer Adam Bennett took on responsibility for the new technology and operations portfolio this week. Mr Bennett has been in the chief information officer role for the last three years.

Industry body Science and Technology Australia has appointed its STEM Sector Policy Committee and Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committees.

Do you know more? Contact James Riley via Email.

Leave a Comment

Related stories