Gig Guide: TechOne’s Di Marco bows out after 35 years

Brandon How

Nearly 35 years after founding software firm TechnologyOne in 1987, Adrian Di Marco will step down from the company at the end of the financial year. Mr Di Marco was chief executive officer until 2017 and has chaired the company since then.

The current deputy chair Patrick O’Sullivan will take over as non-executive chair. Mr O’Sullivan is also chairman of and holds board positions at Afterpay and Cavalry Health.

Mr Di Marco said he is confident that the company will continue to prosper without him.

“TechnologyOne was one of the first startups in Australia 35 years ago. We started at the front of a hides processing plant in an outer Brisbane industrial suburb and later became one of the first tech companies to list on the ASX in 1999 before the dotcom boom,” Mr Di Marco said.

“It has been an amazing journey as we have navigated successfully across 4 major technology paradigm shifts, starting first with the advent of Relational Database technology, then the PC, the internet and more recently the Cloud. At each stage we have had the conviction and courage to rebuild our products and our business to adapt to a new world.

“Today’s announcement is the final step of a carefully planned transition, that started with the appointment of our long serving Chief Operating Officer, Edward Chung to the role of CEO in 2017, the renewal of our Board over the last five years, and the recruitment of a very experienced Deputy Chair Mr Pat O’Sullivan.”

TechnologyOne founder Adrian Di Marco is leaving the company after 35 years.

The University of South Australia (UniSA) has found a new chief information officer (CIO) in Bill Le Blanc, who will start in late March. He departs his role as electricity transmission specialist ElectraNet’s head of technology. Mr Le Blanc was also previously South Australia Health’s chief information officer.

Mr Le Blanc is filling the position vacated by Paul Sherlock in October 2021, UniSA’s first CIO. Mr Sherlock was at the university for more than 20 years.

The new Western Australia Health chief information officer is now officially Jonathan Smith after filling the role since October 2021. This comes after the departure of Christian Rasmussen, who left the job despite only starting in January 2021. Mr Smith also previously acted as CIO in 2020 after Holger Kaufmann departure.

The Digital Transformation Agency has appointed Juleigh Cook as Head of Digital Identity. Ms Cook moves away from her role as acting assistant secretary.

Centre for Policy Development chief executive officer Travers McLeod has stepped down after eight years to become executive director of the not-for-profit Brotherhood of St Laurence. Mr McLeod will move to become a senior fellow as international director Andrew Hudson acts as CEO. Further, Annabel Brown will act as deputy CEO and Allison Orr will become chief operating officer.

New South Wales Health’s new Secretary is Susan Pearce who will begin her term when Elizabeth Koff leaves in early March. Ms Koff has been appointed as Telstra Health’s managing director from July 1. Ms Pearce has been Deputy Secretary Patient Experience and System Performance since 2015.

The Australian Investment Council has appointed four new board members: Anna Ellis, Louise Haslehurst, Matthew Robinson, and Michelle Segaert. Ms Ellis and Ms Haslehurst have been appointed as investment directors. Mr Robinson and Ms Segaert have been appointed managing director and partner respectively.

The council is a representative body for private capital investment in Australia.

The WA government has also appointed Sally McMahon as new independent chair for several committees responsible for advising the state’s Coordinator of Energy. The committees that Ms McMahon is chairing are the Market Advisory Committee, Gas Advisory Board, and Pilbara Advisory Committee. She brings with her over 25 years of energy sector experience.

Kmart has hired Celeste Johnston as head of engineering and delivery customers and Idan Manor as head of engineering and delivery digital.

New Zealand’s largest energy retailer Genesis has promoted Rebecca Larking to Chief Operations Officer, and Pauline Martin to Chief Trading Officer.

Tim Ebbeck and Stuart Bland have been appointed as independent directors of environmental data software firm Envirosuite. Mr Ebbeck was formerly chief executive at SAP and Oracle whereas Mr Bland is the former chief financial officer of fintech Iress.

Software company Schrole has appointed Taj Chail as Commercial Director. Ms Chail enters the role with 12 years of executive management experience.

Do you know more? Contact James Riley via Email.

Leave a Comment

Related stories