Liberal deputy Sussan Ley named as shadow Industry minister

Joseph Brookes
Senior Reporter

Deputy Liberal leader Sussan Ley has been named as the shadow minister for Industry, Skills, Training in Opposition leader Peter Dutton’s shadow ministry announced on Sunday. Ms Ley will hold the positions of shadow minister for Women, and shadow minister for Small and Family Business.

The new Liberal leader said the shadow cabinet included “fresh faces” and “incredible depth” after sidelining key Scott Morrison allies in the new look line-up, including a demotion for former Government Services minister Stuart Robert, who did not make it into the shadow Cabinet, but remains in the shadow ministry.

Mr Robert, who for the last several years has led the Coalition’s digital and data initiatives and did double duty as Minister for Employment and acting Education minister, has been dropped to Assistant Treasurer.

Former Industry and Energy Minister Angus Taylor will hold the shadow treasury portfolio, while Paul Fletcher has been named shadow minister for Science, the Digital Economy and Government Services, while Victorian senator Sarah Henderson takes Mr Fletcher’s old Communications portfolio.

James Patterson, the previous chair of the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security, has been appointed shadow minister for Cybersecurity and Countering Foreign Interference.

Shadow Industry minister Sussan Ley visits a Newcastle-based steel maker Molycop

Nationals leader David Littleproud will remain in the agriculture portfolio, while his new deputy Perin Davey will serve as shadow minister for Water.

Former Nationals leaders Barnaby Joyce and Michael McCormack are also on the frontbench with the Veterans’ Affairs and International Development and the Pacific portfolios respectively.

Alan Tudge, who was stood down as a minister in the last six months of the Coalition government pending an investigation into his conduct during an affair with a staffer, has remerged in his previous portfolio of Education.

Former SAS captain, Andrew Hastie has been named shadow Defence minister, while Karen Andrews has retained the Home Affairs portfolio in Opposition.

Sydney Liberal Julian Leeser has been promoted to shadow Attorney-General and Indigenous Affairs spokesman after not holding any assistant ministry positions in the Morrison government.

Previous Attorney-General Michaelia Cash has been moved to the Employment and Industrial Relations portfolio.

Jane Hume, who was previously the Digital Economy Minister has been promoted to shadow Finance minister, while Morrison government Finance minister Simon Birmingham has moved to shadow Foreign Affairs.

The Coalition’s previous Foreign Affairs minister Marise Payne had asked to not be made a member of the shadow cabinet but has agreed to take the role of shadow cabinet Secretary.

Tasmanian Jonathan Duniam, who was an assistant Industry minister in the Morrison government has been promoted to shadow Environment minister. Dan Tehan has moved from Trade to Immigration.

The Nationals have gained control of the Trade portfolio in opposition, with Lismore-based MP Kevin Hogan taking the role.

The shadow cabinet, made up of 24 members, includes 10 women.

“What you’re seeing in this line-up is some fresh faces,” Mr Dutton said.

“We have incredible depth of talent — not just on the front bench, but on the backbench as well. I’m cognisant of trying to bring people through for an opportunity.”

Another Morrison ally, former Immigration minister Alex Hawke, has been as not been awarded any shadow ministry role. Mr Morrison will be on the backbench, where he has said he will stay until he leaves Parliament.

Do you know more? Contact James Riley via Email.

1 Comment
  1. Matt 2 years ago

    An excellent appointment. Ley knows a lot about the numerology industry. Also when Environment Minister, Ley was a champion of mining.

Leave a Comment