WA opens low emissions tech ‘challenge’ program

Brandon How

A new Western Australia-based supply chain development program for supporting low emissions technologies was launched on Thursday by National Energy Resources Australia with the state government.

The Western Australian (WA) government also announced on Wednesday that applications are now open for the state’s Science Hall of Fame and the Premier’s Science Awards 2022, which features a $100,000 prize pool.

Small to medium sized businesses working in the low emissions technology (LET) sector can submit an expression of interest to the ‘LETs Pitch WA‘ program, with shortlisted firms to receive mentoring and a pitch readiness program.

In particular, National Energy Resources Australia (NERA) is calling for businesses with solutions in energy efficiency, hydrogen and hydrogen-based fuels, low emissions electricity, electrification and fuel switching, non-energy emissions, Carbon Capture and Storage, and Carbon Capture, Utilisation and Storage.

Applications for a new WA low emissions technology program and the state’s science awards are now open

Upon completion, participants of LETs Pitch WA will virtually pitch their technology to ‘blue-chip’ and venture capital investors as well as industry experts, with the winners sent to Norway to represent the state at an energy and innovation conference hosted by the ONS foundation. Winners will also attend a capability workshop and receive further mentoring in preparation for ONS 2022.

Financial support includes a conference pass for the full week of ONS 2022, valued at $2,500, and a stipend of $10,000 to cover the cost of the tour. The Team WA at ONS members will also be able to participate in a program offering connections with industry leaders and innovation centres.

To qualify as a small to medium sized business on this program, NERA states that firms must have a turnover of less than $10 million and fewer than 100 employees. EOI submissions are open until April 19.

The biennial ONS event has been held since 1974, when the group was still called Offshore Northern Seas, and was originally an oil and gas forum. It attracts around 60,000 attendees from more than 100 countries.

NERA is a not-for-profit organisation funded by the federal government founded in 2016 to boost commercialisation of innovation and scale-up technologies in the energy sector.

In the twenty-first iteration of WA’s Science Awards, the Scientist of the Year will receive $50,000 while other category winners will each receive $10,000. The other categories are mid-career scientist, early career scientist, STEM student of the year, and science engagement initiative of the year.

Winners will be selected by a panel chaired by WA Chief Scientist Professor Peter Klinken, with applications closing on April 22.

WA Minister for Science Roger Cook praised local scientists for helping establish the state as a “global hub for innovation” and emphasised the critical role they play in diversifying the economy.

Sponsors for this year’s awards are Chevron, ExxonMobil, Shell, Woodside, and health insurance provider HBF.

The awards are also supported by Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, Murdoch University, the University of Notre Dame, the University of Western Australia, CSIRO, Pawsey Supercomputing Centre, Telethon Kids Institute and WA Museum Boola Bardip.

Do you know more? Contact James Riley via Email.

Leave a Comment

Related stories