Gig Guide: Cervical cancer vaccine creator takes Qld advisory role

Brandon How

Australian immunologist Ian Frazer, who is renowned for his work developing the human papillomavirus cervical cancer vaccine, is the Queensland government’s new biomedical advisor.

Professor Frazer has also been appointed as the new chair of the expert steering committee for Queensland’s $280 million Translational Science Hub.

In a statement announcing the appointment, Deputy Premier Steven Miles said Professor Frazer will help “shape Queensland’s bright future in biomedicine”.

“Professor Ian Frazer is recognised globally for his contribution to medical science, the most significant being the creation of Gardasil, the cervical cancer vaccine,” he said.

Professor Frazer said there are “great opportunities for Queensland Biotech industries going forward, particularly in the run up to the Olympics”.

“We should aim to make Brisbane as a hub for biotech industries and a location for future Southeast Asia Bio meetings, building on the local expertise in basic and applied bioscience across our universities and  biotech companies,” he said.

Professor Ian Frazer

The federal government has appointed former Labor minister and trade unionist Greg Combet as chair of its new Net Zero Economy Agency, which will design and establish the Net Zero Authority expected to be legislated later this year.

This will support workers and industries, particularly in regional areas, in the net-zero transition.

Mr Combet has spent the last four years as the chair of Industry Super Australia. He previously oversaw the Industry and Innovation portfolio and the Climate Change and Energy Efficiency portfolio in the Gillard government, and the Defence Materiel and Science portfolios in the Rudd government.

The 10 members of the Net Zero Agency Advisory Board are:

  • Professor Ross Garnaut AC – Professor Emeritus in economics at the University of Melbourne and Professor Emeritus, College of Asia & the Pacific at ANU
  • Professor Paul Simshauser AM – chief executive of Powerlink Queensland and Professor of economics at Griffith University
  • Anthea Harris – chief executive of the Australian Energy Regulator
  • Nicole Lockwood – chair of Infrastructure WA, board member of NBN and former Shire president of Roebourne
  • Kellie Parker – Rio Tinto Australia chief executive
  • Michele O’Neil – Australian Council of Trade Unions president
  • Professor Robynne Quiggin – UTS pro-vice chancellor and member of the Steering committee for the First Nations Clean Energy Network
  • Anna Skarbek – chief executive of ClimateWorks, director of the Green Building Council of Australia, the Centre for New Energy Technologies, the Sustainable Australia Fund, Impact Investment Group, and Sentient Impact Group
  • Tony Maher – Mining and Energy Union general president
  • Laura Tyler – BHP chief technical officer

From July 3, the new director of the University of Sydney’s Nano Institute will be theoretical quantum physicist Professor Stephen Bartlett, who is currently associate dean (research) at the Faculty of Science. He is also a chief investigator leading a program on designer quantum materials at the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence in Engineered Quantum Systems.

Professor Bartlett is also the inaugural lead editor of the American Physical Society journal PRX Quantum and is on Transport for NSW’s Quantum Expert Advisory Panel. He also helped establish the Sydney Quantum Academy in 2019.

Wollongong-based hydrogen electrolyser manufacturer Hysata has appointed Claire O’Neill, the former UK Minister for Energy and Clean Growth and for Climate Change, to its Global Advisory Council. Among her many advisory roles, Ms O’Neill has previously been a senior global advisor for multinational consultancy McKinsey.

The acting chief executive of the Commonwealth’s new High Speed Rail Authority is Andrew Hyles. He spent almost two years in his last role as Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications assistant secretary for the classification branch.

Rio Tinto’s chief executive, aluminium Ivan Vella will leave the company in December 2023. She will reportedly be the next chief executive of critical minerals producer IGO.

Do you know more? Contact James Riley via Email.

Leave a Comment

Related stories