Gig Guide: Larry Marshall now AmCham chair

Brandon How

Outgoing CSIRO chief executive Dr Larry Marshall has been appointed the chair of the American Chamber of Commerce in Australia.

Dr Marshall has been the longest serving CSIRO chief executive in 50 years and is due to leave the job, after eight years, at the end of June 2023. Prior to joining the science agency in 2015, Dr Marshall spent almost 30 years in the United States, predominantly in Silicon Valley.

From 2007 to 2014, Dr Marshall was Southern Cross Ventures managing director, an investment fund specialising in Australian innovation. During this time, he delivered the first Nasdaq IPO of an Australian-venture backed startup commercialising science, according to AmCham.

He replaces outgoing AmCham chair Dr Brendan Nelson, who has served in the role since March 2020. Dr Nelson, a former Liberal minister and diplomat, will vacate the role at the end of the year to become the president of Boeing International in London.

Announcing the appointment, AmCham chief executive April Palmerlee praised Dr Marshall’s “passion for innovation, deep understanding of business and commitment to fostering new technologies,” which she said is the perfect fit for today’s AmCham.

Dr Larry Marshall and US Ambassador to Australia Caroline Kennedy. Image: US Embassy in Australia

The Universities Accord Ministerial Reference Group was also announced this week and will be chaired by Education minister Jason Clare. It is comprised of 33 other representatives across higher education institutions, business, staff, students, and other experts, including:

  • Senator Anthony Chisholm, Assistant Minister for Education
  • Professor Mary O’Kane AO, chair of the Universities Accord
  • Tony Cook, Department of Education deputy secretary
  • Dr Cathy Foley, chief scientist of Australia
  • Misha Schubert, Science and Technology Australia chief executive
  • Michael Wesley, University of Melbourne deputy vice-chancellor international
  • Georgie Beatty, National Union of Students president
  • Taylah Roberts, 2020 Rural Youth Ambassador
  • Professor Andrew Norton, ANU Centre for Social Research and Methods
  • Associate Professor Paul Harpur, disability rights legal advocate, University of Queensland
  • Professor Lester Rigney, University of South Australia
  • Professor Verity Firth, University of Technology Sydney
  • Pat Forward, former AEU Federal TAFE Secretary

The executive director of Deakin University’s Recycling and Clean Energy Commecialisation Hub, meanwhile, is Mariann Fee. Ms Fee joins the hub after seven-and-a-half-years at CSIRO, where she was most recently director, CSIRO strategic relationship, Department of Defence, defence industry. She also spent more than six years as CSIRO’s director business development and commercial, manufacturing.

Interim chief executive of the Scaling Green Hydrogen Cooperative Research Centre Paul Hodgson has been appointed chair of the Queensland Manufacturing Institute. Mr Hodgson replaces Chris Bridges-Taylor who has taken a directorship at the Industry Capability Network.

Paul Hodgson. image: Scaling Green Hydrogen CRC

Following a recommendation of the 2021 National Research Infrastructure (NRI) Roadmap, a new NRI Advisory Group has been established. It is being chaired by University of Melbourne pro vice-chancellor (Systems Innovation) Professor Elizabeth Sonenberg. The seven other group members are:

  • Dr Leanna Read, South Australia’s former chief scientist
  • Lauren Stafford, Industry Innovation and Science Australia director
  • Emeritus Professor Joseph Shapter, former University of Queensland pro vice-chancellor (research infrastructure)
  • Professor Calum Drummond, RMIT University deputy vice-chancellor and vice president (research and innovation)
  • Suzanne Toumbourou, Australian Council of Recycling chief executive
  • Professor Stephen van Leeuwen, BHP Curtin indigenous chair of biodiversity and environmental science
  • Professor Mark Western, founding director of the University of Queensland’s Institute for Social Science Research

Deborah Anton is the Department of Industry, Science, and Resources’ head of industry growth division. She moves from the ACT Health Directorate where she was deputy director over the past year. Ms Anton was also previously the interim national data commissioner for three and a half years.

Blood BioTech firm CSL’s new chief executive and managing director is Dr Paul McKenzie. He replaces Paul Perreault, who served as CSL chief executive for the last 10 years, from March 6, 2023.

The Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts’ new deputy secretary, chief operating officer is Maree Bridger.

Engineers Australia’s newest board member will be Tom Goerke when he begins the role in January 2023. Mr Goerke is an Adjunct Professor at Curtin University and previously spent 15 years at Cisco. He is also the chair of the StartupWA advisory council.

The University of Melbourne’s new chancellor is Jane Hansen, a serial board director and former mergers, acquisitions and corporate finance specialist at Macquarie Bank and First Boston/Credit Suisse. Ms Hansen replaces Allan Myers, who is stepping down after two terms, at the beginning of 2023.

The Productivity Commission’s new assistant commissioners are Adam Bogiat and Sara Collard.

Do you know more? Contact James Riley via Email.

Leave a Comment

Related stories